Now ShowingComing Soon
NZSO: Magnificient Mozart Poster

NZSO: Magnificient Mozart

EARLY BIRD TICKETS ON SALE NOW! **Discount only until January 14 2013** Andrew Grams conductor Vesa-Matti Leppnen violin Julia Joyce viola Mozart - The Abduction from the Seraglio: Overture Mozart - Sinfonia Concertante Mozart - Symphony No.40 in G minor Story We are delighted to welcome back Andrew Grams after his wonderful For the Fallen concert series with us in 2012. Without question it is the rich complexity of emotions that makes Mozart's music so magnificent. Before composing the sublime Sinfonia Concertante, Mozart endured both the first pangs of love and the devastating loss of his mother, and, unsurprisingly, in this concerto for violin and viola, it is the bigger themes of life that he is grappling with. His opera The Abduction from the Seraglio was also born of upheaval; Mozart composed it speedily in Vienna, having been relieved of his court position in Salzburg. A free man, he infused the overture with a cheerfulness that is distinctly his own. With one of the most famous opening phrases in history, the Symphony No. 40 in G minor nicknamed the Greatreaches out into the void and uncovers something profound. Sound Two of our string stars, Concertmaster Vesa-Matti Leppanen and Section Principal Viola Julia Joyce, trade melodies in the Sinfonia Concertante, exploring all the available colours of their instruments as they soar above the orchestra. Mozart's overture to The Abduction from The Seraglio fed a Viennese vogue for exotic Turkish sounds and is filled with various bells and whistles. Sudden shifts and turbulent chromaticism are brought to order in Mozart's Symphony No. 40, concluding a concert where you can truly enjoy the magnificence of Mozart

2hrs long

Vesa-Matti Leppanen
Julia Joyce
Andrew Grams